Mafia Island

Mafia Island

Mafia Island fait partie des îles Spice tanzanien, avec Unguja et Pemba. Comme l’un des six districts de la région de Pwani, l’île de Mafia est gouvernée à partir de la terre ferme, pas de la région semi-autonome de Zanzibar, dont il n’a jamais été considéré comme une partie. L’île attire des touristes, principalement des Italiens.

L’île de Mafia a une population d’environ 40.000 personnes. Ne vous attendez pas à la criminalité organisée: le nom provient soit du swahili « mahali pa afya», qui signifie «un lieu d’habitation sain », ou de l’arabe « morfiyeh», qui signifie «archipel». L’île attire les plongeurs, les pêcheurs de jeu, et les personnes souhaitant se détendre sur l’une des plages de sable blanc île.

L’histoire de l’île de Mafia remonte au 8ème siècle. L’île a déjà joué un rôle majeur dans l’ancien commerce entre les peuples de l’Extrême-Orient et en Afrique orientale. C’était un arrêt régulier pour les bateaux arabes. Sur la petite île de Chole Mjini, juste au large dans la baie de Chole, se trouvait autrefois un règlement qui constitue l’une des villes les plus importantes du contrôle du commerce des mines d’argent de l’est du Zimbabwe, qui a atteint la ville par les anciens ports de Kilwa et Michangani.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mafia_Island

http://www.touropia.com/tourist-attractions-in-tanzania


Search for Hotels
Destination City:
Search by Property Type:
Check in:
Check-out:

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Mafia Island

Mafia Island

Mafia Island is part of the Tanzanian Spice Islands, together with Unguja and Pemba. As one of the six districts of the Pwani Region, Mafia Island is governed from the mainland, not from the semi-autonomous region of Zanzibar, of which it has never been considered to be a part. The island attracts some tourists, mainly Italians.

Mafia Island has a population of around 40,000 people. Don’t expect organized crime: the name derives either from the Swahili “mahali pa afya,” meaning “a healthy dwelling-place,” or from the Arabic “morfiyeh,” meaning “archipelago”. The island attracts scuba divers, game fishermen, and people wanting to relax on one of the island white sandy beaches.

Mafia Island’s history goes back to the 8th century. The island once played a major role in ancient trade between the people of the Far East and East Africa. It was a regular stop for Arab boats. On the tiny island of Chole Mjini, just offshore in Chole Bay, once stood a settlement that constituted one of the most important towns controlling trade from the silver mines of Eastern Zimbabwe, which reached the town via the old ports of Kilwa and Michangani.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mafia_Island

http://www.touropia.com/tourist-attractions-in-tanzania


Search for Hotels
Destination City:
Search by Property Type:
Check in:
Check-out:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>