Fraser Island

Fraser Island

Fraser Island est une île située sur la côte sud du Queensland, en Australie, à environ 200 kilomètres au nord de Brisbane. Sa longueur est d’environ 120 kilomètres et sa largeur est environ 24 kilomètres. Il a été inscrit comme site du patrimoine mondial en 1992. L’île est considérée comme la plus grande île de sable du monde à 1840 km ². Il est également plus grande île du Queensland, sixième plus grande île de l’Australie et de la plus grande île de la côte Est de l’Australie.

L’île a forêts d’eucalyptus, bois, forêts de mangroves, Wallum et tourbières, dunes de sable et les landes côtières. Il est constitué de sable qui s’est accumulé pendant environ 750000 années sur le roc volcanique qui offre un bassin naturel pour les sédiments qui se fait sur ​​une forte nord actuels en mer le long de la côte.

Les estimations du nombre de visiteurs de l’île de gamme chaque année de 350.000 à 500.000. La chance de voir un dingo dans son milieu naturel est l’une des principales raisons les gens visitent l’île. L’utilisation de promenades et de pistes balisées par les visiteurs sont encouragés à réduire l’érosion.

L’île est accessible par un ferry de chefs rivière à Kingfisher Bay et Wanggoolba Creek ou Inskip Point to nord de Rainbow Beach à Accrochez Point, ou par vol nolisé de l’aéroport de Maroochydore.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fraser_Island


Search for Hotels
Destination City:
Search by Property Type:
Check in:
Check-out:

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Fraser Island

Fraser Island

Fraser Island is an island located along the southern coast of Queensland, Australia, approximately 200 kilometres north of Brisbane. Its length is about 120 kilometres and its width is approximately 24 kilometres. It was inscribed as a World Heritage site in 1992. The island is considered to be the largest sand island in the world at 1840 km². It is also Queensland’s largest island, Australia’s sixth largest island and the largest island on the East Coast of Australia.

The island has rainforests, eucalyptus woodland, mangrove forests, wallum and peat swamps, sand dunes and coastal heaths. It is made up of sand that has been accumulating for approximately 750,000 years on volcanic bedrock that provides a natural catchment for the sediment which is carried on a strong offshore current northwards along the coast.

Estimates of the number of visitors to the island each year range from 350,000 to 500,000. The chance of seeing a dingo in its natural setting is one of the main reasons people visit the island. The use of boardwalks and marked tracks by visitors is encouraged to reduce erosion.

The island can be reached by a ferry from River Heads to Kingfisher Bay and Wanggoolba Creek or Inskip Point to north of Rainbow Beach to Hook Point, or by chartered flight from Maroochydore Airport.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fraser_Island


Search for Hotels
Destination City:
Search by Property Type:
Check in:
Check-out:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>