Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle est un château médiéval développé à partir d’un original construit par Guillaume le Conquérant en 1068. Warwick est le chef-lieu de Warwickshire, en Angleterre, située dans un méandre de la rivière Avon. Le bois château motte-and-bailey original a été reconstruit en pierre au 12ème siècle.

Warwick Castle est situé dans la ville de Warwick, sur une falaise de grès à un coude de la rivière Avon. La rivière, qui coule en contrebas du château sur le côté est, a érodé la roche du château se dresse sur, formant une falaise. Le fleuve et falaise forment défenses naturelles. Quand la construction a commencé en 1068, quatre maisons appartenant à l’abbé de Coventry ont été démolis pour faire place. La position du château a une importance stratégique dans la sauvegarde du Midlands contre la rébellion.

Les autres attractions touristiques comprennent « Flight of the Eagles», affiche tir à l’arc, joutes, « Le Trébuchet Show » et « The Sword in the Stone Show »., Le château est également à la maison « Le donjon du château », une expérience d’acteur direct semblable à celle de « London Dungeon ». Warwick Castle est l’objet de nombreuses histoires de fantômes. Un tel exemple est celui de Fulke Greville qui est dit à hanter la tour Watergate bien qu’il ait été assassiné à Holborn.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warwick_Castle


Search for Hotels
Destination City:
Search by Property Type:
Check in:
Check-out:

Leave a Reply

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle

Warwick Castle is a medieval castle developed from an original built by William the Conqueror in 1068. Warwick is the county town of Warwickshire, England, situated on a bend of the River Avon. The original wooden motte-and-bailey castle was rebuilt in stone in the 12th century.

Warwick Castle is situated in the town of Warwick, on a sandstone bluff at a bend of the River Avon. The river, which runs below the castle on the east side, has eroded the rock the castle stands on, forming a cliff. The river and cliff form natural defences. When construction began in 1068, four houses belonging to the Abbot of Coventry were demolished to provide room. The castle’s position made it strategically important in safeguarding the Midlands against rebellion.

Other tourist attractions include “Flight of the Eagles”, archery displays, Jousting,”The Trebuchet Show” and “The Sword In The Stone Show”. The Castle is also home to “The Castle Dungeon”, a live actor experience similar to that of “London Dungeons”. Warwick Castle is the subject of many ghost stories. One such instance is that of Fulke Greville who is said to haunt the Watergate Tower despite having been murdered in Holborn.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warwick_Castle


Search for Hotels
Destination City:
Search by Property Type:
Check in:
Check-out:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>